Smokey Quinoa with Summer Squash

I haven’t had much luck creating dishes on the fly until this one.  I came across a recipe for a toasted quinoa and veggies dish, but when it came time to make it, I couldn’t find the recipe anywhere. So, I made do with what I could recall from memory (which ends at toast quinoa for 5 minutes. Everything turned out really well. I will definitely make this again!

Smokey Quinoa with Summer Squash

  • 1 c quinoa
  • 2 c water
  • oil (I used sunflower)
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 2 summer squash, quartered
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 jar pasta sauce
  • 1/2 c Daiya cheese
  1. Toast quinoa for 5 minutes
  2. In a separate pan saute onion, after a few minutes add in squash and cumin
  3. When veggies are tender add the toasted quinoa, water and sauce
  4. Bring to a boil, reduce to simmer and cook until quinoa is cooked
  5. Add Daiya and let sit until melted. Serve with steamed veggies. Enjoy!

 

**UPDATE: Lol, found the site I was looking for! It’s a FoodPress blog called Baking with Basil. I wasn’t that close with the ingredients and process, but oh well. I made do!

Leave a Reply

