Go Team Veg!

The fourth was a busy holiday for me this year. I did a lot of exploring, photographing, baking and cooking. I also signed up for a 10k race. I am not the best athlete in the world. Back in gym class days, I was always the kid who got yelled at for walking the mile. However my attitude towards physical fitness changed a few years ago after my mom was diagnosed with some health problems. I decided to get my rear in gear. I ran my first 10k in the fall of 2009, then did some 5ks and eventually worked up to a half-marathon. I am not the fastest runner, but I finish and that’s all that matters to me.

This was the first race that I did where I was running for a cause – other than getting my lazy arse out of bed. Last week I came across some “Team Veg” t-shirts. Team Veg was created a few years ago and it promoted veg health and fitness. Unfortunately the site, www.teamveg.org, is no longer active. However, if there is enough interest to get it started again, I think this would be a great project.

Hopefully it got some other runners thinking and maybe it will encourage them to look further into going vegetarian!

If anyone is interested in sponsoring me for upcoming athletic events (next event is the Warrior Dash) please consider making a tax-deductible donation to Compassionate Action for Animals.

Leave a Reply

