Sweet Tooth Trio

I must have been bitten by the baking bug this week, because I have made a sweet variety of treats. I started off the week by baking Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s Vanilla Agave cupcakes…it is seriously the best cupcake that I have ever made.

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 c soy milk (I used almond)
  • 1/2 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2/3 c light agave nectar
  • 1/3 c canola oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1 1/3 c flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Line cupcake pan and pre-heat oven to 325F
  2. Mix milk and apple cider vinegar, let sit and curdle. Then beat in agave, oil, vanilla and almond extract. Sift in dry ingredients. Mix until smooth.
  3. Fill liners two-thirds full, bake for 20-22min or until toothpick comes out clean.

Frosting

  1. Beat 1/4 c shortening with 1/4 c butter until combined and fluffy.
  2. Add 1 3/4 c powdered sugar, beat for 3-5min.
  3. Add 3/4 tsp vanilla and 1/8 c milk (more if needed). Beat until fluffy!

Later in the week I attempted brownies and classic chocolate chip cookies. I wasn’t thrilled with the way either turned out, so I am not going to share those recipes. If you really want them, I will, but I am on a quest to find a hype-able recipe. If you have any suggestions for recipes I can try out, please share!

5 responses

  1. The brownie recipe in Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar is pretty darn great. The classic brownie. :) I tend to prefer really dense, fudgy ones (and cakey can DIAF, imo) but these guys were a really nice mix of dense and fluffy. I’d bake ‘em again. :)

    My favorite brownie is these guys:

    http://cooknkate.wordpress.com/2009/03/21/a-low-fat-brownie-please/

    They make me flip right the hell out. So. Good. Unless you’re a cakey brownie person (HISSSSSS). ;)

    • Oh, recipe isn’t vegan as written. I use Ener-G as my egg replacer. These might benefit from a titch more leavener, too, as they are very dense and don’t rise much.

    • Haha, I am definitely not a cakey brownie person. Which is sadly how my most recent ones turned out. It’s so frustrating! I used to bake a lot when eggs were a part of my diet. I am finally testing the waters by baking with substitutes.

      Thanks for sharing, can’t wait to try this recipe next :)

Leave a Reply

